Life the Unexpected

There are so many things that can interfere with the whole writing and creative process from self-doubt and self-criticism, to waiting to hear back from your editor, to the problem of indecision as I have readily admit I face. This week I come to you with something we all know is true and in some ways should be prepared for and in other ways we can never be prepared for it, and that is life. The world that exists outside that which we create and write has a way of putting a halt to things and keeping us from being able to perform our craft.

Life has a nasty habit of throwing us curve balls and I accept that and I have learned to accept them and work around them at times.  Yet, there are times it isn’t an easy to work with what the pitcher throws at you. The days where he throws the ball a little more out than you like such as a flat tire.  In those situations you adjust the swing and work around it, you take that one day lost working or you end up gaining writing while waiting on a mechanic. (It all depends on the pitch and swing.) But there are times when the rules of the game seem to change to the point that life no longer is throwing you baseballs, but changes the type of ball it is throwing you entirely, and I’m not talking about getting a whiffle ball of unexpected vacation time.  I’m talking about the times when the pitcher decides it is time to throw a bowling ball at you.  This thing is going to hurt and you are probably going to come out worse for wear.  After all bats are not made for it so you are going to have to get a new one of those if you swing or suffer a strike – neither of those making for good odds.

That is the direction my life has suddenly headed – not only has life pitched at me a great huge bowling ball but it also decided to make it a curve ball.  It is in these points in the game that you wish to take a time out, to walk away from the game and have life stop for a few days any yet you can’t because the pitch has already been made and it is staring you down as it heads toward home plate.  While the world may be crashing down around you, you have to move on and keep going till you know exactly what is going to happen with that bowling ball.  It’s curved in so is it going to hit you and take you out of the game for a while or are you going to try and swing or take that strike, still your feet are routed to the ground you can’t run and you can’t hide that bowling ball is coming like it or not.

For me I had that bowling ball pitched at me my life got turned upside down as I suddenly had to look after my parents dogs as they made a rush to see my grandfather before he passes away and I found myself stuck eight hours away working all day every day and then having to travel between two homes, mine and my parents and I had my own cats to care for as well as my parents dogs to tend to.  Needless to say it has been a long week as I waited to find out how long my grandfather had.   In the end the umpire called it ball.  I had faced the pitch but it didn’t go against me – I made it through the week where I was stretched thing and as it turns out my grandfather is ill but isn’t quite on his death bed as we thought.  He is doing well under a medical treatment that is delaying the inevitable so it isn’t a matter of him being in pain and suffering it is a matter of saying when it is time to stop as the treatment is not something he is fond of.  So I may still be facing the death of my grandfather but it isn’t imminent and he isn’t suffering and that is what matters most to me.

Still, with all of this turmoil I found myself quite unable to write.  Though I feel a writer should be able to write beyond their current mood of anger, frustration or hurt – I think there is an exception to that rule when one’s life is turned upside down by the bowling balls of life.  Honestly that is why this blog comes to you later than I would like it to come.  But now that life is coming back to a normal standard I find my mind is free and clear to write once more.  Hopefully I can get something accomplished instead of just staring at a blank page debating story A or story B.

One thought on “Life the Unexpected

Leave a Reply

