Pete and Repeat

And now it is stuck in your head the never ending rhyme:

Pete and Repeat got in a boat.
Pete fell out who was left?
Repeat.
Pete and Repeat got in a boat…

The story goes on an on forever really. It is a classic child’s game that many of us all are familiar with.  The point of the little story is the repetition.  Of course coupled with that point is the fact that when we experience or see the same things over and over again we get bored.  We don’t want to see it.  We like things that are kind of new and fresh there can be some familiarity and similarities but we can’t stand it, if there is too much.  This is a simple fact that most people can agree with, even if there are exceptions to this fact, such as the use of repetition to get a point across or for compelling power of the words in how they read and sound – such as Edgar Allen Poe’s The Bells.   

Keeping time, time, time,
In a sort of Runic rhyme,
To the throbbing of the bells —
Of the bells, bells, bells–
To the sobbing of the bells;
Keeping time, time, time
As he knells, knells, knells
In a happy Runic rhyme,

It’s only a small sample of the poem and the repetition found within it but I find it beautiful and purposeful and thus forgivable.  There is rhyme and reason (pun utterly not intended).

Thus, while I love most of Poe’s work and have a love  for the sound The Bells invokes with it’s repetition, I have come to hate it.  (Repetition that is.)  It has become my arch nemesis, as I am continuing to edit my novel.  I am finding more and more moments where I use similar words and phases making for a boring read.  Some of them my editor picked out, others I’m discovering on my own, such to the point that it makes me want to scream and toss the story aside.

Yet, while I feel like I’m on the edge of a repeating word nervous break down, as I look at actual word and phrase counts, via this lovely tool I discovered at Write Words my counts are not as bad as I thought them to be.  Causing me to calm down and realize that my freaking out could be due to a sever lack of sleep and over working.  I still need to tighten things up keep from saying certain words too frequently and too closely together but I’m not as bad off and I could be.  So while repetition is my current mortal enemy I will conquer it! Wish me luck.

One thought on “Pete and Repeat

  1. Doc Croc says:

    The word search function (Ctrl + F) works in finding how many times a specific word or phrase appears and tellls you what page(s) it appears on. “This too shall pass”

Leave a Reply

